Lower Medway


The Lower Medway Internal Drainage Board’s drainage district covers the areas of Cuxton, Faversham, Hoo, Isle of Grain, Isle of Sheppey, Lower Halstow, Minster, Seasalter, Sheerness, Sittingbourne and Snodland

Drainage rates

The Lower Medway Internal Drainage Board applies a drainage rate as provided for by the Land Drainage Act (1991). The rate is set annually by Board Members in November, when a level of expenditure for the coming financial year is agreed.


Are you thinking of developing land which is affected by the Lower Medway Drainage Board? You will need to apply for consent before any work is carried out.